Simple Vegetable Garden Ideas

Vegan message board for support on vegan related issues and questions.
Topics include philosophy, activism, effective altruism, plant-based nutrition, and diet advice/discussion whether high carb, low carb (eco atkins/vegan keto) or anything in between.
Meat eater vs. Vegan debate welcome, but please keep it within debate topics.
PsYcHo
Master of the Forum
Diet: Pescetarian

Simple Vegetable Garden Ideas

Post by PsYcHo »

There is a wooden "fort" in my backyard, from the previous owners, and I am considering re-purposing the wood to make a small vegetable garden.

We have excellent soil here (I'm guessing, based on the amount of earthworms and nearby farms), but as it is the backyard, it is mostly shaded.

I have very little growing experience (some in college, but I don't think it's a good idea to try to grow that particular herb here....), but we did have some success growing carrots recently, (by accident. they were part of a "beneficial insect" blend that we planted in a small area.) so I'm wondering what types of veggies I could grow that do well in shade, and that a novice could easily deal with.

I'm leaning towards potatoes and carrots, since they are excellent additions to any meal, but I'm curious as to anything I can grow in a shaded area without a lot of "extras". (Stakes, special soil additives, pesticides, etc.)

Ideas?
Alcohol may have been a factor.

Taxation is theft.
brimstoneSalad
neither stone nor salad
Diet: Vegan

Re: Simple Vegetable Garden Ideas

Post by brimstoneSalad »

For gardening applications, I'm fond of perennials since you don't have to mess around with planting them every year. But that's very zone dependent...
What's your zone, and what kind of frost are you looking at?

Also, consider when they yield: you probably don't want no vegetables at all and then suddenly 50 lb of carrots at the end of the season.