Veganism in media and YouTube frustration.

Vegan message board for support on vegan related issues and questions.
Topics include philosophy, activism, effective altruism, plant-based nutrition, and diet advice/discussion whether high carb, low carb (eco atkins/vegan keto) or anything in between.
Meat eater vs. Vegan debate welcome, but please keep it within debate topics.
EmAndLife
Diet: Vegetarian

Veganism in media and YouTube frustration.

Post by EmAndLife »

As I am very new to the vegetarian and eventually vegan lifestyle, I have been spending a ton of time doing research on what is healthy for me and what I need to lead a happy and healthy life. I found a few youtubers who instantly put a sour taste in my mouth with bad behavior rationalized away with half baked logic. People who held beliefs that I found had nothing to do with my vegan journey, and were harmful to the rest of the vegan community. There was an elitism I was offended by, and a rudeness or lack of compassion which I was baffled by. Veganism is a compassionate way of life, as you are choosing to abstain from eating something that has been tortured or hurt, or use their products. So how could these people who claim to be compassionate be so angry or down right malicious toward everyone else?