Dealing with Unsupportive Parents

Vegan message board for support on vegan related issues and questions.
Topics include philosophy, activism, effective altruism, plant-based nutrition, and diet advice/discussion whether high carb, low carb (eco atkins/vegan keto) or anything in between.
Meat eater vs. Vegan debate welcome, but please keep it within debate topics.
RaspbeckyBeret
Diet: Vegan

Dealing with Unsupportive Parents

Post by RaspbeckyBeret »

Hey, everyone. I'm wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation to the one I'm (about to be) in.

I'm a graduate student living on my own in Japan, but I plan to go home (to America) for the summer. My parents tolerated my vegetarian diet while I was living at home as a high school/undergraduate student, but I expect that there will be some major friction with a vegan one. My mom has always prepared meals and, understandably, feels very offended when people do not eat what she has prepared. She often offers me things and will sometimes just place it in front of me without asking. I'm not really sure how to navigate this situation without upsetting my mother. It's one thing for me to learn how to prepare vegan meals, it's quite another to teach someone who isn't vegan, doesn't want to be, and is preparing meals for mostly omnivores.

I'd love to hear from anyone who has been in a similar situation, whether it be family, a significant other, or a roommate, even. I'm somewhat at a loss. I don't want to cause chaos during my time with my family, but it seems somewhat unavoidable at this point.
Dream Sphere

Re: Dealing with Unsupportive Parents

Post by Dream Sphere »

I'll try to help as well as I can, but as a disclaimer, I haven't been in a similar situation since my parents were always supportive of my veganism.