Veg-diet & workout - am I missing out on something?

Vegan message board for support on vegan related issues and questions.
Topics include philosophy, activism, effective altruism, plant-based nutrition, and diet advice/discussion whether high carb, low carb (eco atkins/vegan keto) or anything in between.
Meat eater vs. Vegan debate welcome, but please keep it within debate topics.
S0urce
Diet: Pescetarian

Veg-diet & workout - am I missing out on something?

Post by S0urce »

Hello everyone!

I'm fairly new with combining a vegetarian diet with workout and I am quite worried that I might miss out on something. Therefore I'm asking for help from someone with experience. Without going into deep specifics I can say that I workout on an average level? (gym/climbing 4-5 times a week)

The source of food is quite boring (I've no problem eating the same stuff forever):

1,5 cups of rice (Basmati)
3 cups of water
2 medium potatoes
1 medium sweet potato
2 carrots
1/3 of green cauliflower
1 slice of red cabbage
1 root parsley
300g corn
600g mixed beans (chickpea, white beans, kidney beans)
1 fresh medium/big sized broccoli
2-3 heaped tablespoons of curry powder
Herbs & seasoning (salt, pepper, basilica etc)

Usually drink water, sometimes (rarely) milk.

PS: I eat all this in 1-2 days depending on how much I workout & how hungry I am etc. Yes, I take B12 supplements.
brimstoneSalad
neither stone nor salad
Diet: Vegan

Re: Veg-diet & workout - am I missing out on something?

Post by brimstoneSalad »

Hi, your diet seems to be too high in carbohydrates, and lacking in fat.

I would take out the 1.5 cups of rice and the 2 white potatoes, and replace them with nuts and seeds. Sunflower seeds (plenty of vitamin E) and walnuts (for essential fatty acids) are pretty good. You can also try chia or hemp seeds if you like those and can find them at an affordable price.

You can keep the sweet potatoes, carrots, and corn. Some carbs are fine, you just seem to be overdoing it.