Vegan working in non-vegan restaurant

Vegan message board for support on vegan related issues and questions.
Topics include philosophy, activism, effective altruism, plant-based nutrition, and diet advice/discussion whether high carb, low carb (eco atkins/vegan keto) or anything in between.
Meat eater vs. Vegan debate welcome, but please keep it within debate topics.
Patrick
Diet: Meat-Eater

Vegan working in non-vegan restaurant

Post by Patrick »

Hello, I changed to vegan recently (less than one month) and I work in a restaurant where almost everything have meat and I am cook in this restaurant. So my question is : Is it okay for a vegan to prepare and cook meat but not eat it? (For the customer who come to the restaurant) It's been a long time since I work there.
AlexanderVeganTheist
Diet: Vegan

Re: Vegan working in non-vegan restaurant

Post by AlexanderVeganTheist »

I think this comes down to your personal reasons for being vegan. My personal reason for being vegan is that I don't want to contribute to animal suffering. I want to minimize my impact on animal suffering. I'm an abolitionist in that regard.

I think being polite and friendly and saying: enjoy your steak sir, contributes to people enjoying animal suffering.

I also don't like the sight and smell of meat. So I wouldn't personally do it.
Patrick

Post by Patrick »

AlexanderVeganTheist wrote:I think this comes down to your personal reasons for being vegan. My personal reason for being vegan is that I don't want to contribute to animal suffering. I want to minimize my impact on animal suffering. I'm an abolitionist in that regard.

I think being polite and friendly and saying: enjoy your steak sir, contributes to people enjoying animal suffering.

I also don't like the sight and smell of meat. So I wouldn't personally do it.