Hi! Привет! שלום!

Vegans and non-vegans alike are welcome.
Post an intro here first to have your account authenticated by a mod, then you'll be able to post anywhere.
Even if you're here to lurk, please drop a short intro post here to let us know you're not a spammer so you aren't accidentally deleted.

Forum rules
Please read the full Forum Rules
TheAddict
Diet: Vegan

Hi! Привет! שלום!

Post by TheAddict »

Hello everyone, I'm a Russian/Israeli student!

I grew up in a purely carnivore household and am vegan for just over 7 months. I wanted to become a vegan for about a year now, but couldn't make the transition. I finally became vegan in prison. Where meat is disgusting and they can't give you spoiled veggies (laws and stuff, I guess). The whole story is very interesting and if anyone cares I'd gladly share. Since I'm a student, I don't have much time on my hands, but eventually, I am planning on writing a book about my story in prison. I was arrested for pacifist views and refusing to fire a weapon in the army :|

I'm also an atheist, coming from a Russian household, with parents who grew up in the Soviet Union, we pretty much never had to face religion until we came to Israel. Where the state itself is a theocracy that disguises itself as a democracy.

That was way longer than it should have been, nice to meet you!
miniboes
Master of the Forum

Re: Hi! Привет! שלום!

Post by miniboes »

Welcome! Cool to have a Russian here.

What were you in prison for?

Will your president start WW3? :p
"I advocate infinite effort on behalf of very finite goals, for example correcting this guy's grammar."
- David Frum
AustinGulotta

Post by AustinGulotta »

Welcome! You sound like a brilliantly interesting addition to the forums :) Can't wait to hear more from you!
TheAddict

Post by TheAddict »

miniboes wrote:Welcome! Cool to have a Russian here.

What were you in prison for?

Will your president start WW3? :p
Welp, born Russian, I now live in Israel.