Hi, I'm Steve and I now call myself a vegan too.

Vegans and non-vegans alike are welcome.
Post an intro here first to have your account authenticated by a mod, then you'll be able to post anywhere.
Even if you're here to lurk, please drop a short intro post here to let us know you're not a spammer so you aren't accidentally deleted.

Forum rules
Please read the full Forum Rules
Steve Wagar
Diet: Vegan

Hi, I'm Steve and I now call myself a vegan too.

Post by Steve Wagar »

Folks, I joined this forum because I have lots of opinions about food and I like to get to the truth of things. I'm 55, I was a computer programmer for many years, and I am now trying to become a science writer. My interest in veganism is almost entirely health related. At my age, with heart disease in my family history, I felt it was time to stop eating healthy in an approximate way and to get serious about it. So 9 years ago I started out with the CR Way (Calorie Restriction), which then migrated into Raw Foodism, which then led to The 80/10/10 Diet, which is fruitarian. I've been a fruitarian for 8.5 years and a vegan for 1 month. Cowspiracy inspired me to go all the way vegan where Forks over Knives and What the Health didn't, because I think a fruitarian diet (mostly fruits with leafy green and other vegetables) with small amounts of animal products is healthier than non-fruitarian vegan diets anyway. However, Cowspiracy made me realize that the planet will die if we don't change fast, and so going the extra mile to root out all use of animal products is the message we have to get out there, so I cut out the last of the animal foods.