Sitting Down for the Pledge of Allegiance?

General philosophy message board for Discussion and debate on other philosophical issues not directly related to veganism. Metaphysics, religion, theist vs. atheist debates, politics, general science discussion, etc.
DaRock
Diet: Vegan

Sitting Down for the Pledge of Allegiance?

Post by DaRock »

I am curious as to the opinion of members of this forum on the subject of standing down for the pledge of allegiance. As a high school student I already do this for two major reasons. #1 Why does a "free" country need to have its citizens unconsciously chant allegiance to it? What standard are we setting for countries in the Middle East or even North Korea. And #2 the whole, "one nation under god, indivisible," part the pledge points toward a presupposed god as a source of moral authority over all Americans. Should I not do this? Am I missing some sort of argument against it?
brimstoneSalad
neither stone nor salad

Re: Sitting Down for the Pledge of Allegiance?

Post by brimstoneSalad »

Unless you want to go into politics, I don't think there's much of a consequentialist argument against it.
Jebus
Master of the Forum

Post by Jebus »

It is indeed ridiculous. Would you have anything to lose if you raise these points with your school authorities? Is there a school newspaper where you could write an opinion piece?
How to become vegan in 4.5 hours:
1.Watch Forks over Knives (Health)
2.Watch Cowspiracy (Environment)
3. Watch Earthlings (Ethics)
Congratulations, unless you are a complete idiot you are now a vegan.
Jamie in Chile
Diet: Vegetarian

Post by Jamie in Chile »

I don't agree with the pledge of allegiance in schools. I think it would be better if it didn't exist. The question is how important this is, and whether it's worth the hassle of taking a stand, since you could cause trouble for yourself. Ultimately, it's up to you. Do whatever you think best. Good luck.
PsYcHo
Master of the Forum
Diet: Pescetarian

Post by PsYcHo »